Aylesbury UTC / About / Governance

The Governing Body of Aylesbury UTC

The Governing Body of Aylesbury UTC acts as the critical friend of the Principal and senior leadership team. Providing support and challenge. Aylesbury UTC Governors have a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the UTC, this includes;

  • Providing a strategic view of Aylesbury UTC, Establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school
  • Ensuring the quality of educational provision
  • Setting targets for student achievement
  • Challenging and monitoring the performance of the school
  • Making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based
  • Ensuring good financial health and probity

In fulfilling these responsibilities Aylesbury UTC governors will:

  • Help the UTC to set high standards. Plan for its future and setting targets for improvement
  • Keep the pressure up on school improvement
  • Be a critical friend to the UTC, offering support and advice
  • Help the UTC respond to the needs of parents and the community
  • Make the UTC accountable to the public for what it does
  • Work with the UTC on planning, developing policies and keeping these under review
  • Exercise its responsibilities and powers in partnership with the Principal and staff
  • Not intervene in the day-to-day management of the UTC unless there are weaknesses, when it then has a duty to take action.

Contact The Governors

Please feel welcome to contact our Governors either by post or by email.

Address: c/o Clerk to the Governing Body, Aylesbury UTC, Oxford Road, Aylesbury, HP21 8PB

Or by email to Ellie Hully.  –

Ofsted Inspection Report March 2022 report.

Click here to view our Ofsted inspection reports.

Please find a link to a document which provides a full register of governors and statutory information required here.

Also a  link to the MTOAT governance page to give a clearer view of the Trust’s governance structure as a whole – GOVERNANCE (

Governing Body

Ken McCrea

Trust Governor and Chair

John Marston

MTOAT CEO and Governor

Joe Dunckley

Principal and Governor

Alison Sanders

Trust Governor and Vice Chair

Karen Buckwell Nutt

Partnership Governor (Buckinghamshire New University)

Ashley Church

Partnership Governor (Buckinghamshire New University)

Benedict McAleenan


Maddie Wheeler

Trust Governor

Emily Dingle

Trust Governor

Tom Devey

Staff Governor