Year 10 Computing Curriculum

Aylesbury UTC / Private: Computing / Year 10 Computing Curriculum

All students joining in Year 10 will work towards completing their GCSEs alongside their choice of Computing specialism.

Ofsted say: In GCSE computing and vocational information and communications technology (ITC) lessons, teaching .. is .. strong.

The following subjects making up the core of the academic studies:

Compulsory GCSEs*

  • English (Language and Literature)
  • Maths
  • Science (Combined or Triple)

Other qualifications*

  • BTEC Tech Award Enterprise
  • GCSE Design Technology
  • GCSE Citizenship


Students choosing Computing also study all of the following level 2 BTEC courses. Each BTEC is worth the equivalent of one GCSE.

BTEC Award Information Technology

Unit 1 – The Online World
Unit 3 – E Portfolio
Unit 4 – Digital Animation
Unit 7 – Digital Video

BTEC Award Creative Media Production

Unit 1 – Digital Media sectors and Audiences
Unit 2 – Planning and Pitching
Unit 3 – Digital Moving Image Production
Unit 4 – Digital Audio Production

GCSE Computer Science

Unit 1 – Computer Systems
Unit 2 – Computational thinking, algorithms and programming
Programming Project

To hear more about some of the exciting work our students do, please click here.

* These subject offerings may change depending on Government announcements, regulations and the viability of student numbers.